World Meteorological Organization


WMO has a membership of 189 Member States and Territories (since 24 January 2007). It originated from the International Meteorological Organization (IMO), which was founded in 1873. Established in 1950, WMO became the specialized agency of the United Nations in 1951 for meteorology (weather and climate), operational hydrology and related geophysical sciences.

The Republic of Moldova became member of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) on 29 July 1994 by the Parliament Resolution No. 210-XIII.

The mission of WMO consists in:

      Promoting the development of meteorology, hydrology and other geophysical sciences, and facilitating international cooperation for the populationís welfare;

  Creating networks of meteorological, hydrological and other geophysical observations;

       Publication and observation standardization;

       Operative hydrology development;

       Creating processing and data exchange systems;

    Applications for the socio-economical development (in the field of transport, water resources, agriculture, ocean usage, pollution control, etc.), environment protection and policy making;

       Disaster preventing and mitigation;

       Research and training.

The SHS specialists participate in WMO work groups and comissions:

-       Commission for Hydrology;

-       Commission for Climatology;

-       Commission for Aeronautical Meteorology;

-       Commission for Atmospherical Sciences;

-       Commission for Agrometeorology;

-       Commission for Basic Systems;

-       Commission for Observation Tools and Methods.

The director of SHS, Dr. Ilie Boian, is the PermanentRepresentative of the Republic of Moldova with the WMO.

For more information click www.wmo.int